San Diego’s The Silent Comedy have released their long-awaited full-length album Enemies Multiply. Born of the personal and professional hardships that deeply affected brothers Joshua and Jeremiah Zimmerman a few years ago, the record would also become a harbinger for the current cultural climate. Enemies Multiply is a collection of 11 songs that the band is very proud of and like most incredible works of art, something really beautiful emerged from a very dark place.The timing couldn’t be better to release this album of songs shaped by bewilderment and frustration in 2018.

“Enemies Multiply is not only a step towards their DIY ethos, it’s a mainline into the creative process and family dynamic that both ignited and continues to sustain the band. At the center of it all are two brothers, raised on the Gospel, road worn, complex and relentless. The new album doesn’t put you in the van, but it does connect you to the heart of The Silent Comedy in a way that no album has before.” – No Depression

Recorded in Austin, Texas, Enemies Multiply is a sonically hard-hitting affair. The brothers used the conflicted energy of their personal struggles to create their most engaging album to date. At the center is “Sharks Smell Blood,” that’s all bluesy strut, spooky choirboy harmonies and a sing-along hook. Likewise, “Avalanche” features a searing guitar line and squelching church organ. “No Saints Forgiven,” begins as a back porch delta-blues confessional that quickly explodes into a Van Halen-esque sing-along at the chorus. The songs were shelved at the time for a number of reasons, the main one being that it was too difficult reliving the painful and frustrating time they were written in. But then the 2016 election happened. Joshua was living in New York City and feeling completely disheartened by the country’s new reality. He realized that the feeling of this moment is what they wrote the record for. A certain pall of outrage and desperation had settled over the country and in Joshua’s estimation, the album now had greater cultural resonance.

“The track showcases the band, known for its cathartic sing-along live performances, stomping through a desperate pop-rock anthem with a soaring chorus refrain of "Help, help is on the way / But not today." Five years removed from their last studio effort, 2013's “Friends Divide" EP, it's good to have 'em back.” NBC San Diego (on “Avalanche”)

Joshua and Jeremiah Zimmerman formed the Silent Comedy in their adopted hometown of San Diego. The brothers spent their childhood traveling around the world with their missionary parents. The family returned to the U.S. and meandered a bit on the road before settling in San Diego, where they moved into a house with nothing in it but an upright piano. It was then - around junior high - that the brothers started collaborating on songwriting as a form of catharsis. It is their travels that have colored their worldview, which when compared to some of their peers, is decidedly darker. Seeing the immense amount of suffering around the world really shaped their life views and Enemies Multiply is a distillation of this somber perspective.

Being the band’s third full-length album, it is the culmination of a long, winding journey for them. Joshua Zimmerman says, “Enemies Multiply is a really special album for The Silent Comedy. It’s a collection of our most personal, heartfelt songs to date and it means a lot to us to share it with the world. These songs are anthems for dark days, so this is a perfect time to release them.” Their last full length, Common Faults has gone through three rounds of CD re-pressings due to demand, and has garnered tens of millions of streams and downloads.Their music has also been paired with gritty American tales such as Hatfields & McCoys, starring Kevin Costner,  the History Channel’s original series The Men Who Built America, Showtime’s Shameless, and the theme song for the first season of the Amazon show Goliath. The success of the album led to tours of North America, Europe, and the UK, and supporting slots with artists such as The Heavy, ZZ Ward, Ryan Bingham, and Dave Matthews Band to name a few.

The band will also be celebrating the release of the record with a sold out hometown show in San Diego at The Casbah tonight.


Photos, Bio etc. :



Where Shall We Hang Elena.jpg

New York indie pop group The Davenports have released the single “Where Shall We Hang Elena?” from the forthcoming album Don’t Be Mad at Me due out July 13th.

The Davenports is the long time project of songwriter and musician Scott Klass, who according to the Deli Magazine are “steeped in pop/rock—Ben Folds meets Weezer …leading you to sing along to songs you’re hearing for the first time while stories unfold of relationships gone awry….”  

“Where Shall We Hang Elena? ” was inspired by an incredible 60’s/70’s era photo Klass had of his mother, who died when he was only twelve. He wanted to hang the image, but wasn’t sure he wanted the constant reminder of the painful memory. Klass found this dilemma of wanting to honor the life of a loved one, but also being fearful of the pain the constant reminder of their absence would bring to be a relatively universal feeling. Everyone has experienced this mixture of loss, fear and love and it was this idea that sparked  the writing of “ Where Shall We Hang Elena?”  The song is not about his mother, but a fictional girl, who both mesmerized the family and caused them heartache.

Prior Davenports albums have been released to critical acclaim, the songs of which can be heard in a number of films and TV shows, including the song “Five Steps,” which is the theme song to A&E’s Emmy-nominated show Intervention. Although, Klass is at the helm of the writing and creative process behind the Davenports, he has always looked at the project as a collective. The collective is made up a rotating group of stellar artists creating music with regular appearances by Claudia Chopek (Father John Misty, Springsteen, Moby), Garo Yellin (The Band’s Visit, The Ordinaires, Pere Ubu), Danny Weinkauf, Dan Miller (They Might Be Giants), Erik Philbrook, Rob Draghi and Cheri Leone to name a few.   “

“Klass writes melodic confections that seep into your psyche and stay…and does so with wit and intelligence.” – Pop Matters

Don’t Be Mad at Me, marks a series of firsts for Klass. Shirley Simms of The Magnetic Fields handles lead vocals on “Miranda in Her Room”--the first Davenport's song to ever feature a lead vocalist other than Klass. The track ”I Don’t Know What to Do”--marks Klass’s entry into the world of co-writing.  Klass wrote the song with Swedish pop musician David Myhr (The Merrymakers) while on a “co-writing tour” of the U.S. The tracks “Miranda in Her Room,” and  “I Don’t Know What to Do” were also collaborations, and in this case long distance international collaborations.

In addition to the Davenports, Klass is member of Look Park, the new project from Fountains of Wayne front man Chris Collingwood which also includes Philip Price of Winterpills. Last year, the trio played Japan’s Fuji Rock festival, opened for Squeeze on their west coast tour, and last Spring Klass and Collingwood supported rock legend Dave Davies of the Kinks.


Don't Be Mad At Me.jpg

1. Where Shall We Hang Elena
2. I Don’t Know What to Do
3. Don’t Be Mad at Me
4. You Kind of Kept the Deal
5. Miranda in Her Room
6. Leanne
7. With me Or Against Me
8. Freedom
9. Away From Me
10. To the End